Background Image Alternative Text: In the architecture studio working on Choctaw bus models
Architecture Accreditation

Architecture Accreditation

The Mississippi State University School of Architecture is the ONLY accredited professional architecture program in the state of Mississippi.

The National Architectural Accrediting Board

In the United States, most registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure. The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit professional degree programs in architecture offered by institutions with U.S. regional accreditation, recognizes three types of degrees: the Bachelor of Architecture, the Master of Architecture, and the Doctor of Architecture. A program may be granted an eight-year term, an eight-year term with conditions, or a two-year term of continuing accreditation, or a three-year term of initial accreditation, depending on the extent of its conformance with established education standards. Doctor of Architecture and Master of Architecture degree programs may require a non-accredited undergraduate degree in architecture for admission. However, the non-accredited degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree.

Mississippi State University School of Architecture offers the following NAAB-accredited degree program:

B. Arch. (152 undergraduate semester credits)
Next Accreditation Visit: 2024

Current Conditions and Procedures for Accreditation:

Conditions for Accreditation – 2020 Edition

Procedures for Accreditation – 2020 Edition

Annual Reports Since 2016 NAAB Visit:

Past Conditions and Procedures for Accreditation and Reports:

The Bachelor of Architecture program offered by the School of Architecture at Mississippi State University has been continuously accredited by NAAB since its inception, and in September 2016 the school was reaccredited for another full eight-year term.

The NCARB Pass Rates for the Architectural Registration Examination for Mississippi State University School of Architecture can be found here:


(662) 325-2202

Building Construction Science

(662) 325-8305

Interior Design

(662) 325-0530

Dean's Office

(662) 325-5150